KDE Plasma and me

I have been using Linux system, especially the ones based on Debian or Ubuntu, for 5 years. I went from good old Gnome 2 through XFCE to Unity. But I always avoided KDE. To be honest, I have never tried it. I had just looked at videos and screenshots and I did not like it. The look reminded me too much of Windows and it was heavier on system resources. But KDE Plasma 5 came. And I think I have changed my mind.

I installed Kubuntu 15.10 with KDE Plasma 5.4.2. One of the things I like about Linux systems is the customization. I like to have something different. And the level of customization that KDE Plasma offers right out of the box is awesome. Actually, a lot of stuff comes out of the box.

Also with the new version of Plasma new look came. And it’s looking awesome. It’s modern and stylish. I like it even more because it’s getting close to flat style that I love.

Installation process was standard I’m used to at all Ubuntu (based) operating systems. Then the first start came. Boy, was I impressed. Except few little things, this is how modern operating system should look like. All Linux operating system offer great customization option, but KDE (Kubuntu) somehow does it differently. Maybe it’s just feeling, but it offers me something I haven’t seen in any other Linux OS. It might be a little bit harder to find some settings in System Settings, but you get used to it.

KDE also offers putting widgets on your desktop, but I’m not a fan of that.

If I think a little bit deeper, I might seem some of the stuff, especially the customization options, in Linux Mint or just Cinnamon environment. The panel customization mostly.

But let’s not be all sugary here. Even though I have found just one thing that bothers me, it’s there and it should be mentioned – the preinstalled software. It’s all KDE software, but it’s just too much.

Leave a Reply

